Don’t Quit Your Day Job

Well, we’re into day 4 of The Snake Alley Festival of Film. So far it has been a fun and amazing event. Everyone here is friendly and there are some amazingly talented people concentrated in a small area.

One of the new features this year was to have actors read scripts submitted by screenwriters. JoJo Munkee did an amazing job of collecting actors and rehearsing them. This feature gives screenwriters get to see their words come to life. It helps them to visualize how their words play as an interaction between characters.

Just seconds before one of the scripts was to be read, JoJo got word that two actors were involved in a car accident, so she shanghaied yours truly to fill one of the parts. No rehearsal, no nothing. I was literally handed a script as I walked on stage and was told I was playing the part of Ozzie, an elderly black man. The title of the screenplay was “All Aboard!”

I missed my cues a couple of times and missed leaving the stage during one part.

Everyone was very complimentary and told me I did a good job. I thought to myself, “I don’t think I should quit my day job.”

It was all in good fun and in the name of art, so no harm, no foul.

If you’ve never been to an indie film festival, I urge you to go. If you want to attend a great indie film festival, come to The Snake Alley Festival of Film in Burlington, Iowa.

Tonight’s after party is at The Drake and promises to be a real blast.

And Saturday is Cyn-A-Palooza, complete with a street carnival, big sales, and topped off with Weiner Dog Races.

Then, on Saturday night, we have a street party in front of the Capitol Theater, the awards ceremony, and another after party at Martini’s. Follow Snake Alley Festival of Film on Facebook and see all of the pictures.Image

Leave a Reply

