Be Afraid! Be Very Afraid!

Janet Leigh in shower scene from Psycho.

Janet Leigh in shower scene from Psycho.

The witching hour is fast approaching! I’m referring to “All Hallows Eve,” also known as Halloween.

‘Tis the time ghosts and goblins, tricks and treats, eerily glowing Jack-O-Lanterns, and things that go “bump” in the night.

It’s also a great time to watch scary movies.

If you Google the phrase, “The scariest movies of all time,” you’ll get some very subjective lists. Even Reader’s Digest weighs in with their list of the top 31 scariest movies of all time. I don’t agree with all of them, but here is their list: The Exorcist (1973), The Shining (1980), Halloween (1978), Poltergeist (1982), The Evil Dead (1981), The Cabin in the Woods (2012), A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984), The Birds (1963), Alien (1979), Coraline (2009)

I think Alfred Hitchcock’s “Psycho” should have been on the list, (but I’ve always been partial to the shower scene with Janet Leigh.) I also liked “Them” and “The Blob.” It’s a generational thing.

Which movies would you pick for your Top 10 Scariest Movies?

During last year’s Snake Alley Festival of Film there was a special screening of “The Legend of Beaver Dam.” This short film was funny, scary, entertaining and should be in the “Top 10” list of any scary short films.

On this same subject, here is an interesting link from David Thrasher on the Iowa Films Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/116202208392934/permalink/677048065641676/
His link for the movie factoids is:
http://www.cracked.com/article_20710_5-photos-that-shatter-your-image-horror-movie-locations.html

This year for Halloween, I’ve developed my own scare tactic. I’m downloading a picture of a huge motor home. Then I photo shop a picture of my wife and myself standing next to it. Next, I email it to the kids with a note asking, “Do you think this will fit in your driveway?”

I wish I could see their faces when they open THAT email! Bwaa haaa haa!

Not to be too scary, but are you getting ready for next year’s Snake Alley Festival of Film. It has a way of sneaking up on you.

And if you notice that Lonnie Schuyler has a lot more gray hair…you know he saw my motor home email!

Leave a Reply

